A memorandum of understanding was sigend on June 6, 2016 in Luxenbourg between Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden  to cooperate on off shore wind development.  “This strategy will boost interconnection and renewables capacity, help fight climate change and bolster energy security, which are the central goals of the energy union,” said Arias Cañete. It will also help develop the North Sea’s potential at the lowest cost, added Maroš Šefčovič, vice president of the energy union. The Four main points of cooperation include:

1) Spatial planning

2)Developing the electricity grid to accommodate large-scale offshore wind power.

3) Sharing information about each country’s own offshore infrastructure needs to help plan investments and align support schemes.

4) Identify best practices and ways to harmonize technical rules and standards across the region.

“We can develop more low-carbon energy more quickly if countries cooperate,” said Jonathan Gaventa, E3G’s director. “The new declaration lays the foundations for building the low carbon infrastructure Europe needs for a prosperous and safe future.” MEP Claude Turmes, the Green party’s energy spokesman, said he was “delighted,” adding, “A few weeks ahead of the Brexit referendum, I am glad to see Britain fully taking part in this regional cooperation effort.”

The agreement was sigend while Belgium is planning a 1 bln reduction in wind subsidies and the UK Dong Energy’s Hornsea Two project is facing scrutiny because of noise issues: The UK will sign the agreemnt after the BREXIT vote on June 23.