The EHA entered an new era in June appointing Ian Williamson of Air Products as its first president representing industry.  Ian is succeeding Lars Sjunnesson who has represented the Swedish national hydrogen association in the EHA  for over 7 years. Under Lars’s guidance the association membership has increased from 5 national associations in 2000 to 19 national member associations and 7 of the main hydrogen infrastructure companies, Shell Hydrogen, Statoil, ENI, Air Products, Linde, Air liquide and Hydrogenics Europe today. Ian Williamson indicated that the EHA with this unique membership structure  is well placed to foster local deployment and infrastructure build- up and that he is committed to support national association members to facilitate a broad market uptake of the first commercial hydrogen applications throughout Europe.
With the development of electric transport throughout Europe, the role of hydrogen in electric fuel cell vehicles will become more imminent.  The EHA therefore seeks to actively contribute to the upcoming EU White Paper on Sustainable Transport for Europe and has submitted its contribution to the Comission’s consultation on an EU Energy 2011 -2020 strategy. In collaboration with HyER (formerly HyRaMP) a Workshop is scheduled on large scale infrastructure development for key national and regional stakeholders on October 20, 2010 in Brussels. For more inforamtion and registration please contat the EHA secretariat at