5 December 2012 marked the official beginning of the The European Electromobility Observatory (EEO).  In the presence of the EU Commission,  HyER President, Andreas Ziolek  signed the contract, on behalf of the seven partner consortium (HyER, Avere, ECN, TNO, TUV Nord, Polis and VUB) at the DG MOVE offices in Brussels. The EEO will act as a European point of reference for electromobility developments at local level and shall become the main information platform of European regions on electromobility. The EEO will also collect, evaluate and disseminate data and experiences from electro-mobility projects and programmes across Europe to: Monitor progress and trends; Identify best practices; Identify bottlenecks; Enable fact-based policy-making.   On 27 February 2012, a monitoring pilot for electro-mobility activities involving 8 regions and cities was launched. The regions and cities that participated in this meeting were as follows: Amsterdam; Rotterdam; Hamburg; North Rhine- Westphalia; London; Milan; Poitou-Charentes; Oslo.   HyER is the consortium leader and also responsible for the promotion and dissemination of the results.